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Title 21. Crimes and Punishments 
Chapter 49 - Animals and Carcasses 

 
 

Section 1221 - Infected or Diseased Domestic Animals 

Any person who shall suffer to run at large, or who shall keep in any place where other animals can have 

access to or become infected by them, any horse, mare, mule, ass, ox, bull, cow, sheep or other domestic 

animals owned by him, or in his care or possession, and known by him, or good reason to believe such 

animal to be infected by glanders, farcy, or Texas mange or other infectious or contagious disease, or 

who shall bring into this state any diseased cattle, shall be punished upon conviction of the same, by 

imprisonment in the county jail not more than one (1) year or by fine not exceeding Five Hundred Dollars 

($500.00). 

Section 1222 - Duty to Dispose of Domestic Animals Dying of a Contagious or Infectious Disease 

It shall be the duty of the owner of any domestic animal in the State of Oklahoma, which may hereafter 

die of any contagious or infectious disease, either to burn the carcass thereof or bury the same within 

twenty-four (24) hours after he has notice or knowledge of such fact so that no part of such carcass shall 

be nearer than two and one-half (2 1/2) feet of the surface of the soil: Provided, That all hogs dying of any 

disease shall be burned. It shall further be unlawful to bury any such carcass as mentioned in this section 

in any land along any stream or ravine, where it is liable to become exposed through erosion of the soil, 

or where such land is any time subject to overflow. "Owner", as used in this section, shall mean and 

include any person having domestic animals in his possession, either by reason of ownership, rent, hire, 

loan, or otherwise, and shall be subject to all the pains and penalties of this article. 

Section 1223 - Leaving Carcass in Certain Places 

It shall be unlawful for any person to leave or deposit, or cause to be deposited or left the carcass of any 

animal, chicken or other fowl, whether the same shall have died from disease or otherwise, in any well, 

spring, pond or stream of water; or leave or deposit the same within one-fourth (1/4) mile of any occupied 

dwelling or of any public highway, without burying the same as provided in the preceding section of this 

act. 

Section 1224 - Penalty 
 

Every person who violates the two preceding sections, shall be guilty of a misdemeanor. 

Section 1225 - Unclean Slaughterhouses - Nuisance 
 

If any owner or occupier of any slaughterhouses, or any premises where hogs, beeves or other animals 
are slaughtered, shall permit the same to remain unclean, to the annoyance of the citizens of this state, or 
any of them, every person so offending shall be fined upon conviction for every such offense in any sum 
not less than five nor more than Twenty-five Dollars ($25.00), and if said nuisance be not removed within 
five (5) days thereafter, it shall be deemed a second offense against the provisions of this section. 
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Section 1226 - Penalty for Selling or Buying Infected Carcasses 
 

If any person shall barter, sell or dispose of the carcass of any swine or other domestic animals infected 
with cholera or other infectious diseases at the time of death to any person for the purpose of 
manufacturing the same into lard, soap or for any other purpose, or if any person shall buy or otherwise 
obtain the carcass of any swine or other domestic animals infected with cholera or other infectious 
diseases at the time of death for manufacturing purposes as aforesaid or any other purpose except that of 
burial or burning he shall be fined in any sum not to exceed Fifty ($50.00) Dollars or be imprisoned in the 
county jail not more than thirty (30) days. 

Section 1227 - Unlawful Disposition, Sale or Transportation of Infected Swine 
 

It shall be unlawful for any person to sell or otherwise dispose of any live swine that is infected with 
cholera or any other contagious diseases or to drive any such swine on the public highways, after any 
such person or persons have received knowledge of any such contagious diseases. 

Section 1228 - Penalty 
 

Any person violating the provisions of the preceding section shall be deemed guilty of a misdemeanor 
and, upon conviction thereof, shall be fined in any sum not to exceed Fifty Dollars ($50.00), or be 
imprisoned in the county jail not more than thirty (30) days. 

Section 1229 - Unlawful Injecting Drugs or Chemicals into Livestock - Exceptions - Penalty 
 

For livestock utilized for exhibition purposes, it shall be unlawful for any person to inject into the livestock 
or cause the livestock to ingest any drug, chemical or substance that is not labeled for use on animals, or 
to administer any chemical or substance used on livestock for the specific purpose of altering the 
appearance of livestock or to alter the muscle or fat content of the animal's carcass or to perform any 
surgical procedure to alter the appearance of the livestock. Ordinary and customary veterinarian 
procedures, including but not limited to dehorning, branding, tagging or notching ears, castrating, 
deworming, vaccinating or docking the tail of farm animals shall not be prohibited. Surgery of any kind 
performed to change the natural contour or appearance of the animal's body or hide, shall be prohibited 
by this section. Any violation of the provisions of this section shall be a misdemeanor, upon conviction, 
punishable by a fine of not less than One Thousand Dollars ($1,000.00), nor more than Ten Thousand 
Dollars ($10,000.00), or by imprisonment in the county jail for a term not less than thirty (30) days nor 
more than one (1) year, or by both such fine and imprisonment. A second or subsequent violation of the 
provisions of this section shall be a felony, upon conviction, punishable by a fine of not less than One 
Thousand Dollars ($1,000.00), nor more than Ten Thousand Dollars ($10,000.00), or by imprisonment in 
the State Penitentiary for a term not less than one (1) year nor more than five (5) years, or by both such 
fine and imprisonment. 


