Scrap Metal
Gary Smith, Weights and Measures Program Administrator
2800 North Lincoln Blvd.
Oklahoma City, OK 73105-4298

During the 2013 Oklahoma Legislative Session House Bill 1740 was passed, which requires all scrap metal dealers to obtain a license from the Oklahoma Department of Agriculture, Food, and Forestry. A scrap metal dealer is defined as: "Any person, firm or corporation who is a retailer or wholesale business which buys, sells, salvages, processes, or otherwise handles scrap metal materials". To obtain a license each applicant will need to return the enclosed application with the appropriate fees, pass a national criminal background check, and provide proof of the following:

  1. Legal proof of ownership, lease agreement or contract for the business location;
  2. Proof of a dedicated telephone line for the business location;
  3. Proof of general liability insurance policy of not less than $500,000 for the business location;
  4. Proof of a current discharge permit issued pursuant to the provisions of the Oklahoma Pollutant Discharge Elimination System Act;
  5. Photo ID;
  6. Two (2) full sets of fingerprints on the cards provided. To obtain your fingerprints take the enclosed cards to your local police or sheriffs department and have them assist you. You will need to submit both cards with the application. (We will submit them to the Oklahoma State Bureau of Investigation (OSBI) for processing).
The license is good for one year, effective November 1st through October 31st of each calendar year. The total application fee is $241. This includes $100 for the initial application, $100 investigative fee, and $41 for the national criminal background check. Please Contact Gary Smith, to receive an Application.