Quick Links

Market Report 

Press Release 

The Oklahoma State Board of Agriculture

The State Board of Agriculture consists of five members appointed by the Governor with the consent of the Oklahoma State Senate. Members shall be farmers with practical experience for at least five of the previous ten years and lived on and operated a farm after reaching 21 years of age. The state is divided into four agricultural districts and a member is appointed to a four year term from each of the districts. An at large position is appointed by the Governor to be the President of the State Board of Agriculture and serves at the pleasure of the Governor. The President also serves as the Commissioner of Agriculture.

Blayne Arthur, Secretary and Commissioner of Agriculture

On January 14, 2019, Blayne Arthur was sworn in by Governor Kevin Stitt as the Oklahoma Secretary of Agriculture—the state’s first female to hold the position. She acts as Governor Stitt’s chief advisor on policy development and implementation related to agriculture, food and forestry, and holds the titles of Oklahoma Commissioner of Agriculture and the President of the Oklahoma State Board of Agriculture.

Secretary Arthur grew up in Chickasha, Oklahoma, where her family raised horses, shorthorn cattle, wheat, alfalfa and soybeans. Arthur and her two sisters, Dr. Rosslyn Biggs and Chelsea Evans, were active in 4-H and FFA, focusing primarily on showing horses and shorthorn cattle — both statewide and nationally. Arthur’s mother, Dr. Peggy Clark, worked for the USDA as a veterinary medical officer. Her father, David Spencer, owns and operates Spencer Livestock, LLC., a family-oriented operation focusing on show horses and cattle, based out of Chickasha.

Upon graduating from Oklahoma State University in 2004, with a bachelor’s degree in agricultural economics, Sec. Arthur took a role in small-business financing for Rural Enterprises, Inc. In 2009, the then-Secretary of Agriculture, Terry Peach hired her as the department’s social media coordinator. When Secretary Jim Reese was elected in 2011, he offered her the position as the Deputy Commissioner of Agriculture, where she stayed from 2011 to 2016. In 2016, she served as the Executive Director for the Oklahoma 4-H Foundation until her appointment by Governor Stitt.

She is the 2016 Oklahoma Cattlemen’s Association Distinguished Service Award Recipient; remains active in Oklahoma Farm Bureau, Diamond Hats, American Quarter Horse Association, Oklahoma Beef Council, and Ponies of the Americas; and selected for multiple honors including Oklahoma Agricultural Leadership Program Class XV, a Journal Record 2011 Achievers Under 40 honoree, and the 2014 Oklahoma Agricultural Woman of the Year.

 Secretary Arthur married Jerrod Arthur in 2006 and they have two children, Kelton and Kennedy, who both enjoy showing cattle and horses. The Arthurs lives east of Stillwater and raise show cattle for 4-H and FFA members.

Phone: (405) 522-5488

Ed HurlimanClay Burtrum, Stillwater 

Clay Burtrum represents northeast Oklahoma and operates a cow/calf and beef stocker operation in Payne and Pawnee counties. He also co-owns Farm Data Services, a managerial accounting firm serving the needs of farmers, ranchers and rural businesses. His background includes various roles and management experience in the feedlot, cattle contracting, farm and cattle appraisals, and crop and livestock insurance. Clay is passionate about agriculture and is active in both state and national beef leadership. He has served as chairman of the Oklahoma Beef Council and has been a district director of the Oklahoma Cattlemen’s Association. He is involved in the National Cattlemen’s Beef Association, serving as the Region IV Federation Vice President, on the Finance and Audit Committee, and is currently serving as Vice Chairman of the Federation of State Beef Councils. A proud OSU alum, Clay serves on the Animal Science Alumni Board and is a graduate of the Oklahoma Ag Leadership Program, currently serving on the OALP advisory board. He was also an inaugural member of the King Ranch Leadership Program and has served locally the last nine years on the Payne County Farm Service Agency county committee. He holds the ag industry in the highest regard and does his best to make an impact.

Phone: to (405)747-9865

Jay Franklin
Jay Franklin, Vinita

Jay Franklin and his wife, Susanna, farm near Vinita, including land that was settled by his family in 1870.  The operation currently focuses on row crops and wheat, and has been exclusively no-till since the mid-80s.  Franklin’s prior experiences include serving as a member of the United Soybean Board, Oklahoma FSA State Committee, Craig County Conservation District, and Oklahoma Association of Conservation Districts.  He currently serves as Vice-President of the US Soy Federation.

Phone: (918) 256-7977

Joe Farris, Fairview

Joe Farris of Fairview has a long history of involvement in the agriculture industry. He currently serves as the Sr. Vice President of Bank of Western Oklahoma in addition to owning and managing an operation of bulls and replacement heifers. He earned a Bachelor’s degree in Agriculture Education from Oklahoma State University and taught at Fairview as the Agriculture Education instructor from 1978 to 1982. Farris has served on the State Board of Agriculture since 2006 and is also a member of the Dewey County Fair board. He is also currently serving on the Dewey County Excise Board.

Phone: Phone: (580)455-8063

Karen Krehbiel
Karen Krehbiel Dodson, Hydro

Karen Krehbiel is a self-employed agricultural producer and business owner from the Hydro/Hinton area in northern Caddo County. She owns and manages a diverse 2,200 acre multi-generational farming operation raising wheat, milo, peanuts, alfalfa and sheep and selling center pivot agricultural irrigation systems as well as registered and certified seed wheat. Krehbiel holds a CPA certificate and maintains a private accounting practice. She has been active in several farm and agricultural organizations and has served on the board of the Oklahoma Wheat Growers Association. Krehbiel continues to serve on the Caddo County Excise and Equalization boards.

Phone: (405) 542-6361



Any information submitted or stored by the Oklahoma Department of Agriculture, Food and Forestry is subject to open records laws and may be released to any person who requests it. Exceptions include some personally identifiable information, financial information and law enforcement records. All records of the agency, including records submitted by the public, are stored in various electronic and paper methods.